Beacon Citizen Network (BCN): a place for neighbors to get the word out, be heard and stay informed in all matters concerning Beacon, NY.



Meet the candidates – the OTHER candidates

In addition to the Barack-n-John show, we the people may consider the following for president: Bob Barr (Libertarian), Roger Calero (Socialist Workers), Cynthia McKinney (Green), Gloria La Riva (Party for Socialism and Liberation), and, of course, Ralph Nader (Independent).

But wait – that’s not all!

After fruitlessly searching the Dutchess County Board of Election website, I finally came upon and this cool NY Interactive Map. Here’s the scoop on this year's 12508 ballot:

Congressional District 19
Congressman John Hall (D) is our freshman incumbent, not to mention the force behind musical sensations The John Hall Band and Orleans.

He is being challenged by Kieran Lalor (R), Iraq-war vet and founder of the Eternal Vigilance Society. Lalor has expressed his fervent support of the war in Iraq in such publications as the Washington Times, the New York Post and Fox News.

State Assembly District 102
Incumbent Joel M. Miller (R) will be challenged by Jonathan B. Smith (D) and he's preaching the gospel of universal healthcare and renewable energies.

State Senatorial District 41
Incumbent Stephen M. Saland (R) will be opposed by Kenneth J. Dow (D) who has been endorsed by John Hall.

Views: 40

Tags: election, politics


You need to be a member of to add comments!


Comment by Kelly Kingman on November 7, 2008 at 3:34pm
As it turns out, using this nifty State Assembly search by zip, that three districts fall partially within the city of Beacon.

Current elected officials are:
Sandy Galef - 90th District
Tom Kirwan - 100th District
Joel M. Miller - 102nd District

© 2020   Created by Kelly Kingman.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service