CONNECT

Beacon Citizen Network (BCN): a place for neighbors to get the word out, be heard and stay informed in all matters concerning Beacon, NY.

SPONSORS

Photobucket

any artists in the community want to start a weekly meet-up to have a draw-night? this has become a popular way to gain inspiration on a regular basis, flex creative muscles and keep on top of your skillz.

we could iron out details based on interest level, but i envision meeting at one of a variety of venues on main street (zuzu's, muddy cup, homespun, etc...) on a rotating basis (so we don't impose on one business too heavily, and spread our business around a bit at the same time).

anyone interested, respond here to let me know and we can figure out a first meet-up at that time. we can use the event calendar here to coordinate.

Tags: art, artists, beacon sketch club, draw night, main st.

Views: 88

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I'm new to Beacon, just closing on a house on Monday. I would love a drawing group, but ideally we'd have a model if there are enough artists out there to share the cost.
getting a life-model would be cool too, but from what i gather of other such clubs, it's more free-flow. to keep cost down, we could simply take turns being the model, or pick "inspiration" (ideas written down on a piece of paper) out of a hat... things like that. even maybe do a "jam" piece, where everyone adds something to one piece.

anyway, all just possibilities...
hi...i am new to beacon and the area...i think a drawing group would be really great...i am living on main street so i think that the mentioned places to meet are easily gotten to...maybe it could get started soon if enough people show an interest
thanks, Ty... i'll keep it in mind! so far i've only had the few replies above and one or two emails through my craigslist listing, so there is a modicum of interest. i've been busy as hell recently though, and haven't had the time to organize anything yet.
Hey,